Sundridge Parish, one of the oldest in the country, was created in 1894, and is located near Sevenoaks, adjacent to Junction 5 of the M25, with the A21. The parish, containing the villages of Sundridge and Ide Hill, is set in the Green Belt and an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.
Sundridge Village is mid-way between Sevenoaks and Westerham on the A25, and runs along the Darenth Valley. Two miles to the south, Ide Hill provides breathtaking views over the Weald and Bough Beech reservoir. Ide Hill’s church is the highest in Kent. Walkers and cyclists make use of the attractive surrounding countryside with generous and well-maintained footpaths. Near by are many acres of National Trust woodland. Each village has an historic pub: The White Horse in Sundridge and The Cock, Ide Hill.
The villages have lively communities, with over 900 residents in Sundridge and over 500 in Ide Hill. Sundridge is proud of its Social & Bowls Club, which has been on its present site near the recently modernised and well-stocked shop and village Post Office since 1923. Ide Hill, with an attractive village green has a Comunity Shop run by village volunteers and flourishing clubs and societies. Each village has a village hall and excellent primary schools and recreation grounds with children’s play areas. In addition to the northern end is Combe Bank School for girls in a fine Grade 2 listed building.
Parish history dates back to the earliest recorded times: Sundridge Church existed in 862, probably as a wooden structure, and later was recorded in the Domesday Book. Among the many historic and listed buildings are: St Mary’s Church, Sundridge, rated one of the top 2000 listed buildings; the Old Hall on Main Road, dating from 1458, is thought to be the oldest original building. The National Trust’s charming Victorian Emmetts Garden lies between the villages. The centre of both villages are designated Village Conservation Areas.
Within a few miles are many places of interest: Knole House, Chartwell, Hever Castle, Penshurst Place, Chiddingstone NT village and Chevening House